Our Chapter

If you arived here via the main GPAA website you already know the GPAA.  For the remaining individuals here's a short history.  The GPAA was founded in 1968 by George "Buzzard" Massie and several other fellow prospectors for the purpose of preserving the heritage of prospecting in North America.  By forming this organization were able thru membership fees to acquire mining claims all over the United States for their members to camp, fish and of course, prospect for gold.

They are also helping to keep our public lands public.  There are a few organizations that petition the government constantly to close lands to all forms of outdoor recreation.  The Gold fever television program was started in 1991 and have become very popular in the last few years.

Our chapter tries to have at least two or more Common Prospecting Trips / Outings a year .  The closest GPAA property is Buchanan Georgia but we head off to other areas in Georgia and North Carolina for gem digging and gold prospecting.  When the Gold show is in Georgia or the Carolina's GPAA members might just see several of us operating a booth to promote our chapter.

The Orlando Chapter was founded in 2002.  Come to one of Our Meetings and join in the fun.  9:00am second Saturday of each month at Warren Park, Orlando, Fl.

Our current officers are;

President: Chris Maggio '14 ->
Vice President: Eddie Carter '14 ->
Secretary: Janice Bosschar '16 ->
Treasurer: Dick Coddings '16 ->
Contact Person: Chris Maggio '14 ->
Purchasing Agent: Dick Coddings '16 ->
Webmaster: Bob Gaebler '08 ->


      2014 - 2015  Membership.